martes, 30 de junio de 2015

Mercyful Fate (Essential Albums)

King Diamond Vocals, Keyboards
Hank Shermann Guitars (lead)
Michael Denner Guitars (lead)
Kim Ruzz Drums
Timi "Grabber" Hansen Bass
Mercyful Fate was formed in 1981 in Copenhagen (Denmark) on the ashes of the punk/metal band Brats, by vocalist King Diamond (King Diamond, ex-Black Rose) (real name Kim Bendix Petersen) and guitarist Hank Shermann (real name Rene Krolmark). After going through some lineup changes (see the liner notes in 'Return of the Vampire' for more info) the 'classic' lineup was born, with the addition of guitarist Michael Denner (also formerly of Brats) and bassist Timi "Grabber" Hansen (the two were members of a band/project called Danger Zone at the time, King and Hank used to help them), as well as drummer Kim Ruzz who quickly replaced Nick Smith (Danger Zone's drummer).
The band put out three releases - the self-titled EP (nicknamed 'Nuns Have No Fun'), 'Melissa' and 'Don't Break The Oath' - which cemented their status in the metal underground and the emerging black metal scene. In 1985, citing musical differences, the band split up - Shermann apparently was tired of the Satanic content and wanted to move on to a more accessible hard rock sound. He did precisely that with the next band he formed - Fate (Dnk) - while King Diamond, Michael Denner and Timi Hansen moved on to create a band of their own, simply called King Diamond.
1987 sees the release of 'The Beginning', a posthumous LP containing the out-of-print debut EP along with some other rare recordings. The rest of the '80s is marked by continuing success for King Diamond; Fate (Dnk) flops badly, which prompts Shermann to leave. After Denner quits King Diamond, the two form Zoser Mez together.
In 1992 'Return of the Vampire' is released, containing early unreleased tracks put together by King. Soon after this, King comes across the Zoser Mez recordings, and is impressed by how close Michael and Hank have managed to come to the original Mercyful Fate sound. This leads to a much-celebrated reunion, the full-length 'In the Shadows' and the 'Bell Witch' EP.
The band continued to record and tour throughout the '90s with some lineup changes (original member Denner has left the band again), in-between King Diamond recordings and tours and the other obligations of different members.
As of the present the band is inactive, though their exact status remains unknown. Asked about the end of the band's activities, King Diamond said in a March 2008 interview that Mercyful Fate have not broken up just yet, they are only "hibernating". Though he does not know when the band will come back, he admitted that the band is "definitely not finished, at least in my book."
Shermann and Denner have formed a new band, entitled Force of Evil, which also features Bjarne Holm, Hal Patino and Martin Steene.
Mercyful Fate re-recorded "Evil" and "Curse of the Pharaos" for the videogame "Guitar Hero: Metallica" in 2009. The re-recordings featured a line-up of: King Diamond, Michael Denner, Hank Shermann, Timi Hansen and Bjarne Holm.
(Extracted in part from the bio at the Mercyful Fate Coven)
Return of the Vampire 1992
A compilation of early 80's Demo material.
Tracks 1-5 are from the Burning the Cross demo.
Track 6 : same line-up, but from a 1982 session in England 
for Ebony Records, before the recordings of the EP.
Tracks 7-8 are from Danger Zone demo.
Track 9 is from the first demo of the band as Mercyful Fate, 
before Michael Denner's recruitment.
10. Burning the Cross
02. Curse of the Pharaohs
03. Return of the Vampire
04. On a Night of Full Moon
05. A Corpse Without Soul
06. Death Kiss
07. Leave My Soul Alone
08. M.D.A. (Mission: Destroy Aliens)
09. You Asked for It
Calidad 320 Kbps CBR.
The Beginning 1987 
Tracks 1-4 are the "Nuns Have No Fun" EP recorded and 
mixed at Stone Sound Studio, Holland, September 1982.
Tracks 5-7 from the "Friday Rock Show" radio show / "Rave-on sessions" 
recorded in a BBC studio session, 1983-03-19, and mixed later.
Track 8 is the "Black Funeral" EP's B-side recorded during the "Melissa" 
sessions, Easy Sound studio, Copenhagen, Denmark, 1983-07-19 
01. Doomed By The Living Dead
02. A Corpse Without Soul
03. Nuns Have No Fun
04. Devil Eyes
05. Curse Of The Pharaohs
06. Evil
07. Satan's Fall
08. Black Masses
09. Black Funeral (Bonus Track)
Calidad 320 Kbps CBR.
Don't Break The Oath 1984
01. A Dangerous Meeting
02. Nightmare
03. Desecration Of Souls
04. Night Of The Unborn
05. The Oath
06. Gypsy
07. Welcome Princess Of Hell
08. To One Far Away
09. Come To The Sabbath
Calidad 320 Kbps CBR.
Melissa 1983
01. Evil
02. Curse Of The Pharaohs
03. Into The Coven
04. At The Sound Of The Demon Bell
05. Black Funeral
06. Satan's Fall
07. Melissa
08. Black Masses
Calidad 320 Kbps CBR.

0 comentarios:

Publicar un comentario