miércoles, 11 de febrero de 2015

Anthrax (Essential Albums)

Neil Turbin Vocals (1982-1984) *
Scott Ian Guitars
Dan Spitz Guitars
Dan Lilker Bass *
Charlie Benante Drums, Percussion
Joey Belladonna Vocals **
Frank Bello Bass **
Anthrax was formed in mid-1981 by guitarists Scott Ian and Dan Lilker. They found the name in a biology textbook and claimed it because it sounded sufficiently evil. Vocalist John Connelly joined, as did drummer Dave Weiss and a bassist named Kenny Kushner. Kenny was replaced very early on with Paul Kahn, who was found insufficient as well, so Danny Lilker took over on bass, and Greg Walls joined as second guitarist. Then Connelly and Weiss left, being replaced by Greg D'Angelo on drums, and after a series of vocalists (including Scott's brother Jason Rosenfeld), they found Neil Turbin.
This line-up gigged frequently locally, featuring original songs like "Satan's Wheels" (a song about drugs), "Hunting Dogs", and more, and also covers by Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Kiss, and more. The lineup recorded a NWOBHM-sounding demo in July, 1982. Greg Walls left in the summer of 1983, and his replacement was Bob Berry for a few gigs.
Then, Dan Spitz (formerly of Overkill) joined the band, replacing Bob Berry. With Dan, second demo was recorded. In September, Charlie Benante replaced Greg D'Angelo on drums. This lineup recorded the Soldiers of Metal 7" single, produced by Ross the Boss Manowar (The B-side of this single has one of the old demos with Greg D'Angelo on it, the only "official" recording with Greg!).
This demo got them a recording deal with Megaforce records, for which they recorded their debut album, Fistful of Metal, in late 1983. It was released in January of 1984, and a US tour followed, during which tensions grew between Danny Lilker and Neil Turbin. Danny Lilker was let go, and he formed Nuclear Assault with John Connelly, before moving on to a variety of other projects (Brutal Truth, Hemlock, Holy Moses, and more).
Frank Bello (Charlie's nephew) joined on bass, and then finally Turbin was fired in July of 1984 very near the end of the tour. The last few dates featured Matt Fallon on vocals, but he was very temporary. In late 1984, the band appeared as a 4-piece, "The Diseased", with Scott on vocals. They performed a few punk covers, including "See Nothing, Hear Nothing, Say Nothing" by Discharge. A recording exists. Then, Joey Belladonna was found, and an EP, Armed and Dangerous, was recorded, with some old Neil Turbin stuff added to fill out the recording (two live tracks from early 1984, and the songs from the old 7"). Joey's debut was February 27th, 1985. Later in 1985, Scott and Danny Lilker appeared on the Stormtroopers of Death album "Speak English or Die". An Anthrax album, Spreading the Disease came soon, and US and European tours followed.
Armed And Dangerous EP 1985 **
The first two tracks are special pre-released version.
The last two tracks are actually from the first Anthrax
7" "Soldiers of Metal". They were unavailable since 1983.
01. Armed And Dangerous (Studio)
02. Raise Hell (Studio)
03. God Save The Queen (Sex Pistols Cover)
04. Metal Thrashing Mad (Live)
05. Panic (Live)
06. Soldiers Of Metal (Collector's Rare track) *
07. Howling Furies (Collector's Rare track) *
Calidad 320 Kbps CBR.
Fistful Of Metal 1983 *
01. Deathrider
02. Metal Thrashing Mad
03. I'm Eighteen (Alice Cooper Cover)
04. Panic
05. Subjugator
06. Soldiers Of Metal
07. Death From Above
08. Anthrax
09. Across The River
10. Howling Furies
Calidad 320 Kbps CBR.

0 comentarios:

Publicar un comentario